top of page

About

Our Mission

To increase the visibility and impact of Motor Development research over the next decade through meaningful collaborations.

Our Vision

Ensuring all people reach their fullest potential to live an active and healthy life through movement.

Who We Are

An international body of researchers at various points in their careers and from a variety of countries and research backgrounds.

Our History

It has been 25 years since the publication of Clark & Whitall’s  “What is Motor Development:  The Lessons of History”, which helped to frame the collective research agenda within the field in the 20th century.  In the new millennium, “Motor Development” seems to be losing its identity as a unique discipline. We as a field wanted to establish an organization that reflects upon who we have been, who we are, and how we can move forward.

The International Motor Development Research Consortium (I-MDRC) was created in 2014  as a way to bring together an international body of researchers at various points in their careers and from a variety of countries and research backgrounds. 

Executive Committee
Matthieu Lenoir.jpeg

Matthieu Lenoir

President

matthieu.lenoir@ugent.be

Ghent University

Belgium

David Stodden.jpg

David Stodden

President Elect

stodden@mailbox.sc.edu

University of South Carolina

United States

  • X
LisaBarnett.jpg

Lisa Barnett

  • X

Past President

lisa.barnett@deakin.edu.au

Deakin University

Australia

WebsterEK.jpg

Kip Webster

  • X

Secretary

kipwebster@utk.edu

University of Tennessee 

United States

brian_ali255x300-255x300.jpg

Ali Brian

  • X

Treasurer

abrian@sc.edu

University of South Carolina

United States

getchell 1.jpg

Nancy Getchell

  • X

Presidents' Liaison

getchell@udel.edu

University of Delaware

United States

Sacko_Headshot.jpg

Ryan Sacko

  • X

Communications Director

rsacko@citadel.edu

The Citadel

United States

Advisory Committee
Priscila Tamplain.jpg

Priscila Tamplain

  • X

Membership Coordinator

priscila.tamplain@uta.edu

University of Texas-Arlington

United States

Sgro Pic.jpeg

Francesco Sgrò

  • X

Member-at-large

francesco.sgro@unikore.it

University of Enna “Kore”

Italy

CV_2022_Foto_Isaac_Estevan.JPG

Isaac Estevan

  • X

Member-at-large

isaac.estevan@uv.es

University of Valencia

Spain

Mandy Plumb.png

Mandy Plumb

  • X

Member-at-large

a.plumb@cqu.edu.au

Central Queensland University

Australia

Donna_Pic .jpg

Donna Niemistö

  • X
Elly vanHyfte.jpeg

Elly Van Hyfte

  • X

Student Representative

Elly.vanHyfte@UGent.be

Ghent University

Belgium

Sam Logan.jpg

Sam Logan

  • X

Member-at-large

sam.logan@oregonstate.edu

Oregon State University

United States

valentini-700x1024.jpg

Nadia Valentini

  • X

Member-at-large

nadia.cristina@ufrgs.br

Federal University of Rio Grande do Sul 

Brazil

An De Meester.jpg

An De Meester

  • X

Member-at-large

demeeste@mailbox.sc.edu

University of South Carolina

United States

Melanie Perreault.jpg

Melanie Perreault

Member-at-large

mperreault@brockport.edu

SUNY Brockport

United States

DSC.JPG

Fotini Venetsanou

  • X

Member-at-large

fvenetsanou@phed.uoa.gr

University of Athens

Greece

bottom of page