Our Mission

To increase visibility and impact of Motor Development research over the next decade through meaningful collaborations.

Our Vision

Ensuring all people reach their fullest potential to live an active and healthy life through movement.

Who We Are

An international body of researchers at various points in their career and from a variety of countries and research backgrounds.

Our History

It has been 25 years since the publication of Clark & Whitall’s  “What is Motor Development:  The Lessons of History”, which helped to frame the collective research agenda within the field in the 20th century.  In the new millennium, “Motor Development” seems to be losing its identity as a unique discipline. We as a field, wanted to establish an organization that reflects upon who we have been, who we are, and how we can move forward.

The International Motor Development Research Consortium (I-MDRC) was created in 2014  as a way to bring together an international body of researchers at various points in their career and from a variety of countries and research backgrounds. 

Meet The Team

Lisa Barnett

  • Twitter

President

lisa.barnett@deakin.edu.au

Deakin University

Australia

Kip Webster

  • Twitter

Secretary

ewebster@augusta.edu

Augusta University 

United States

Matthieu Lenoir

President Elect

matthieu.lenoir@UGent.be

Ghent University

Belgium

Ryan Hulteen

  • Twitter

Media Coordinator

ryan.hulteen@ubc.ca

University of British Columbia

Canada

  • Twitter

Jane Clark

Member-at-large

jeclark@umd.edu

University of Maryland

United States

Nancy Getchell

  • Twitter

Past President

getchell@udel.edu

University of Delaware

United States

Priscila Tamplain

Membership Coordinator

priscila.tamplain@uta.edu

University of Texas-Arlington

United States

Mike Duncan

  • Twitter

Member-at-large

aa8396@coventry.ac.uk

Coventry University

United Kingdom

  • Twitter

Ali Brian

  • Twitter

Treasurer

abrian@sc.edu

University of South Carolina

United States

Ting Liu

Membership Coordinator

tingliu@txstate.edu

Texas State University

United States

Farid Bardid

  • Twitter

Member-at-large

farid.bardid@strath.ac.uk

University of Strathclyde

United Kingdom

Advisory Committee

Nadia Valentini

nadia.cristina@ufrgs.br

Federal University of Rio Grande do Sul 

Brazil

Jackie Goodway

  • Twitter

goodway.1@osu.edu

Ohio State University

United States

David Stodden

  • Twitter

stodden@mailbox.sc.edu

University of South Carolina

United States

Fotini Venetsanou

  • Twitter

fvenetsanou@phed.uoa.gr

National and Kapodistrian University of Athens

Greece

  • Twitter

Luís Paulo Rodrigues

Leah Robinson

  • Twitter

lerobin@umich.edu

University of Michigan

United States

Vitor Lopes

  • Twitter

vplopes@ipb.pt

Polytechnic Institute of Bragança

Portugal

Jiani Ma

  • Twitter

Student Representative

maj33@uni.coventry.ac.uk

Coventry & Deakin University

United Kingdom & Australia

Open Call for Nominations

I-MDRC is currently seeking nominations for the following positions:

- Student Representative

To apply, please send an email to imdrc.15@gmail.com with the following info:

- Name

- Current Position

- University

- Email

- Position you are applying for

- A short (500 words or less) explanation of any pertinent experience or why you think you are best for the position

We will contact you as soon as a decision has been made!